We use cookies on this website – more information

Cookies are small text files which are downloaded to your computer or mobile device when you visit a website.

 

Term dates

2015 - 2016 Term Dates and Academic Calendar

Term Dates*

 Term 1  21 September 2015 - 14 December 2015
 Term 2  04 January 2016 - 14 March 2016
 Term 3  04 April 2016 - 23 May 2016

*Some courses run outside these dates e.g. Nursing and Allied Health Professions programmes (Occupational Therapy, Radiography and Physiotherapy), Creative and Performing Arts programmes and programmes leading to Qualified Teacher Status (PGCE Secondary, PGCE Primary, PGCE Distributed Learning, School Direct and undergraduate 3 and 4 Year QTS courses).

Students who are registered on a course with a non-standard or extended academic year, either at undergraduate or postgraduate level, will be advised of the dates for their course separately.


Public Holidays

Friday 25 December 2015 Christmas Day
Saturday 26 December 2015 Boxing Day
Friday 1 January 2016 New Year’s Day
Friday 25 March 2016 Good Friday
Monday 28 March 2016 Easter Monday
Monday 2 May 2016 May Bank Holiday
Monday 30 May 2016 Spring Bank Holiday
Monday 29 August 2016 Summer Bank Holiday 

 

Academic Calendar 2015-16*

Date Activity
Monday 21 September 2015 Induction Week
Monday 28 September 2015 Semester 1 teaching begins all years
Monday 23 - Friday 27 November 2015 Awards Ceremonies Week
Friday 18 December 2015 Semester 1 teaching ends
Monday 4 January 2016 Semester 1 examination period begins
Monday 18 January 2016 Semester 2 teaching begins
Monday 21 March 2016 Easter Break commences
Monday 4 April 2016 Semester 2 teaching recommences
Friday 18 April 2016 Semester 2 teaching ends
Tuesday 3 May 2016 Semester 2 examination period begins
Tuesday 31 May 2016 Assessment Board period commences
Friday 24 June 2016 Finalist results published (excluding Brampton Road Performing Arts, Games, Digital Arts and Nursing students)
Monday 11 July 2016 Finalist results published for Brampton Road Performing Arts, Games, Digital Arts and Nursing students. Progressing students results published.
Monday 11 - Friday 15 July 2016 Summer Graduation Ceremonies week
Friday 15 July 2016 Finalist results published for Postgraduate students
Monday 3 August 2016 Finalist results published for L4 & 5 BA Social Work, BSc Occupational Therapy and BSc Physiotherapy
Monday 15 - Friday 19 August 2016 Reassessment Examination week
Tuesday 1 September 2016

Reassessment Board period begins

*The calendar applies to standard undergraduate programmes.

 

2016 – 2017 Term Dates and Academic Calendar

Term Dates*

Term dates are provided in the format as required by students applying to Student Finance England (SFE) or their alternative funding body.

Autumn Term 19 September 2016 to 16 December 2016
Spring Term 09 January 2017 to 07 April 2017
Summer Term 24 April 2017 to 02 June 2017

*Some courses run outside these dates e.g. Nursing and Allied Health Professions programmes (Occupational Therapy, Radiography and Physiotherapy), Creative and Performing Arts programmes and programmes leading to Qualified Teacher Status (PGCE Secondary, PGCE Primary, PGCE Distributed Learning, School Direct and undergraduate 3 and 4 Year QTS courses).

Students who are registered on a course with a non-standard or extended academic year, either at undergraduate or postgraduate level, will be advised of the dates for their course separately.

Public Holidays (England and Wales)

Sunday 25 December 2016 Christmas Day
Monday 26 December 2016 Boxing Day
Tuesday 27 December 2016 Christmas Day (substitute day)
Sunday 01 January 2017 New Year’s Day
Monday 02 January 2017 New Year’s Day (substitute day)
Friday 14 April 2017 Good Friday
Monday 17 April 2017 Easter Monday
Monday 01 May 2017 Early May Bank Holiday
Monday 29 May 2017 Spring Bank Holiday
Monday 28 August 2017 Summer Bank Holiday

Further information on public holidays in Scotland or Northern Ireland is available via www.gov.uk/bank-holidays.

Academic Calendar 2016-7**

Date Activity
19 September 2016 Induction Week
26 September 2016 Semester 1 teaching begins (all years)
21 November 2016 Graduation Ceremonies week
16 December 2016 Semester 1 teaching ends
09 January 2017 Semester 1 examination period begins
23 January 2017 Semester 2 teaching begins
10 April 2017 Easter break commences
24 April 2017 Semester 2 teaching recommences
01 May 2017 Semester 2 examination period begins
17 July 2017 Graduation Ceremonies week
14 August 2017 Reassessment examination week

**The calendar applies to standard undergraduate programmes.